Brookfield Community School

A Specialist Sport College

Brookfield Community School > Library > Carnegie Medal Group
 Carnegie Medal Shadowing Group 2013
Each year the Carnegie Medal is awarded to an outstanding book for children or young people. A panel of judges read a shortlist of between 6 - 8 books and decide on the overall winner. At the same time schools around the country shadow this process by reading and discussing the same books. Brookfield Carnegie Medal Shadowing Group has been running for the past 10 years. It's a great way of reading challenging and interesting new books and making new friends.
The group is aimed at Year 8 and 9 students. Once the shortlist is announced in April, we begin meeting weekly, reading all the books and having lots of lively discussion about which we think should win. We get involved with other schools through the Carnegie Medal website (take a look at our page and our reviews) and get together with other schools in Derbyshire    In 2012 we attended an event at Lady Manners. This year we have invited some local schools to take part in an event at Brookfield. 
 The books on the 2013 shortlist were:
 The 2013 winner was:
'Maggot Moon by Sally Gardner
Previous Winners of the Carnegie Medal include: 
 2012-  Patrick Ness 'A Monster Calls'
 2011-  Patrick Ness' Monsters of Men'
 2010-  Neil Gaiman ' TheGraveyard Book'
2009 -  Siobhan Dowd 'Bog Child'
2008 - Philip Reeve 'Here Lies Arthur'
2007- Meg Rossof 'Just in Case'
2005 - Mal Peet 'Tamar'
2004 - Frank Cotterel Boyce 'Millions'
1998 - David Almond 'Skellig'
1995 - Philip Pullman 'Northern Lights'
1992 - Anne Fine 'Flower Babies'
1972 Richard Adams 'Watership Down'
1952  - Mary Norton 'The Borrowers'
Forgotten password?
Having trouble logging in?